Wu Jianping
  • DIVISON: Data Science and Information Technology Research Center (TBSI)
  • EMAIL: jianping@cernet.edu.cn PHONE:

Jianping Wu is a Professor of Department of Computer Science at Tsinghua University and a member of Chinese Academy of Engineering. Dr. Wu was born in 1953 in Taiyuan in Shanxi Province, and received a bachelor’s degree of Computer in Department of Electrical Engineering from Tsinghua University in 1977, and earned his Master and doctor’s degree from Tsinghua University too in 1982 and 1997. Dr. Wu is serving the dean of the Department of Computer Science, dean of Institute for Network Sciences and Cyberspace, director of Information Technology Center at Tsinghua University. Dr. Wu is also serving the directors of Network Center and Technical Board of China Education and Research Network (CERNET), and the director of the National Engineering Laboratory for Next Generation Internet, a member of Advisory Committee of National Information Infrastructure for Secretariat of State Council of China, and Vice President of Internet Society of China (ISC).He is the IEEE Fellow. And Dr. Wu was also the Chairman of Asia Pacific Advanced Network (2007-2011). He was elected a member of Chinese Academy of Engineering in 2015.


Dr. Wu has been devoted himself to the research of computer network including technology research, network engineering and cultivating talents for many years. And he has led his team to do an in-depth study of network design, network engineering, network core equipment development and network architecture, etc. He was the leader for establishing the China Education and Research Network (CERNET) in 1995, and establishing the first nationwide pure IPv6 network in 2005. Dr. Wu proposed the idea of Source Address Validation Architecture and the 4over6 transition technology from IPv4 to IPv6 which would solve the key problems of the current network.


Dr. Wu received one award of the Second Prize of the National Award for Technological Invention, three awards of the Second Prize of the National Award for the Advancement in Science and Technology, and one award of the Third Prize of the National Award for the Advancement in Science and Technology. As the first author, he developed 4 IETF RFCsin IETF. He is inventor or co-inventor on 20 patents, has published more than 300 academic papers, edited and co-edited eight books, and supervised more than 100 undergraduates. He received the Outstanding Youth by the National Natural Science Foundation of China(1998), and the Chair Professorship Award for Cheung Kong Scholars Program jointly established and sponsored by Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China and Hong Kong Cheung Kong Infrastructure Holdings Limited (2000). He received Prize for Scientific and Technological Progress of Ho Leung Ho Lee Foundation in 2008 and Jonathan B. Postel Service Award of ISOC in 2010.